● Download Immediately ● Buy Once—You Own It ● Re-Usable
● Free Updates ● Fillable PDFs or Word ● Insert Data—Print
Facts to Remember
General Contractors / Design Professionals (if your contract is with the owner): File your Oregon lien within 75 days of completion of the last furnishing of labor or materials to the project.
Subcontractors/Suppliers (if your contract is with the prime or another sub): Record the Oregon lien within 75 days of your last furnishing labor or materials to the project (your portion of the work).
Who Can File? A mechanic’s lien in Oregon is meant for: General contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers, renters of equipment, architects, engineers, and land surveyors.
Where? Recorder’s Office (in the county where services / material were performed).
How Long Does it Stay on Record? A mechanics lien in Oregon stays 120 days after recording the lien. After that, a lawsuit to foreclose the lien is then required. We have templates for this. Give us a call to begin.
We Are Here To Help: If you prefer, for the same price, we will instruct you how to fill-out the Oregon mechanic’s lien form line by line, answer questions, and give a general idea of the chances for success in enforcing the lien. (800-995-9434).
Mechanics Lien for Oregon Law Summary: For a more detailed discussion of Oregon mechanics liens.
HOW TO FILE AN OREGON MECHANIC’S LIEN
Step 1. Fill-out and Print
Complete the form with one of our PDF “fillable” mechanic’s lien templates. It automatically captures data and prints the lien in final form. Bonus feature: Keep on your desktop: it is re-usable for other non-paying jobs.
Oregon mechanic’s lien–Amount to Claim: All work/material furnished under the base verbal or written contract plus change orders actually performed, whether signed or not. Finance charges are allowed only if included in your contract or PO and signed by the other party. If not, you still get pre-judgment interest. It is not advisable to include specific finance charges or interest in the amount of your lien; instead express it as a possible add-on at trial. Example of Wording: “Mechanic’s lien for the principal amount of $10,550, plus finance charges / pre-judgment interest as allowed by law”. This will be awarded later if you are the prevailing party in the Oregon lien foreclosure suit.
Do not reduce for customer discounts—it is rarely productive when it comes to being paid the final draw and you can actually lose respect in the process. You are not bound by initially agreeing to perform items without charge–this was contingent on being paid. With non-payment, it is no longer legal consideration for a contract modification in which the owner receives a reduced price. Example: While performing TI work on a shopping center, in a gesture of good faith you furnish the following extras without charge: a) candilever overhang for the front wall, b) replacing faux brick veneer panels on the south wall with more expensive limestone, and c) a small retaining wall (together with drain rock, filter fabric and drainage) on the slope above the rear parking lot. Then you never got paid the last installment on the contract. If you supplied labor only, your Oregon lien will add in the hourly rate under the contract. If labor and material, use cost-plus or T & M amounts in the lien.
Not advisable to include: A mechanics lien in Oregon should rarely include: court costs and attorneys’ fees (included later if you win at trial for breach of contract); lost profits if terminated from the job; delay or impact damages; lost time or business the interruption; or anything else not constituting actual labor and materials improving the property.
Watch out. Including unauthorized amounts can invalidate a Oregon mechanics lien. Call us if you have any questions.
Step 2. Sign and Notarize
Signed by anyone who has knowledge of the general services rendered and the costs incurred. It does not have to be someone in the field—in other words, it can be signed by any knowledgeable office personnel. For example: a manager, bookkeeper, controller, job foreman, project manager, owner, co-owner, or partner. All recorded documents must be notarized.
Step 3. Look-up Recorder’s Office
Recording a mechanics lien in Oregon is at the county level, not state or city. See “Where?” above for the name of your State’s recorder. Do a Google search for the county in which the project is located. Example: “[Name] County Clerk Recorder Register of Deeds”. Call to verify the costs, recorder’s address, and any special requirements. Give them the city where the work was performed-sometimes it is filed in different branch offices. If you don’t know the county, Google the city—even small towns have a Wikipedia listing describing the county. Use the cover letter provided. Send the original and one copy with a stamped self-addressed return envelope.
Legal description required? Most counties dispense with this requirement, but if they do, we will look it up for free with any purchase.
Step 4. Mail
Regular mail to the recorder. Overnight if close to the filing deadline. If a general contractor, serve the Oregon mechanics lien on the owner with a copy certified mail. If a sub or supplier, serve the owner and general with a copy certified mail. Fill-out and staple as the last page the Proof of Service (it shows proof of mailing to the owner and/or general contractor).
Now You’re Done!
Call us if you have any questions about a mechanics lien in Oregon—we’ll walk you through it. (800) 995-9434; (925) 899-8449.