● Immediate Download  ● Buy Once—You Own It  ● Re-Usable

● Free Updates  ● Fillable PDFs or Word  ● Insert Data—Print

                                                                  Fact Sheet

When?  

 General Contractors / Design Professionals (if your contract is with the owner): You cannot merely file a lien–lawsuit is required. File your Maryland lien lawsuit within 180 days of the last furnishing of labor or materials to the project.

Subcontractors/Suppliers (if your contract is with the prime or another sub):  Just like above, you cannot merely file a lien–lawsuit is required. Record your Maryland lien lawsuit within 180 days of your last furnishing of labor or materials to the project (your portion of the work).

We have lawsuit templates for such an action.

Who?  A mechanic’s lien in Maryland is allowed for General contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers, renters of equipment, architects, engineers, and land surveyors.

 Where?  Superior Court (in county where work / material furnished).

Let Us Help:   If you prefer, for the same price, we will instruct you how to fill-out the Maryland mechanic’s lien form line by line, answer questions, and give a general idea of the chances for success in enforcing the lien. (800-995-9434).

Mechanics Lien for Maryland Law Summary:  For a more detailed discussion of Maryland mechanics liens.

Amount of Maryland mechanic’s lien: All work/material furnished under the base verbal or written contract plus change orders actually performed, whether signed or not. Finance charges are allowed only if included in your contract or PO and signed by the other party. If not, you still get pre-judgment interest.  But do not include specific finance charges or interest in the amount of your lien; instead express it as a possible add-on at trial. Example: “Mechanic’s lien for the principal amount of $10,550, plus finance charges / pre-judgment interest as allowed by law”.  This will be awarded later if you bring a lawsuit.

Do not reduce for freebies or discounts, as they were contingent on being paid.  With non-payment, it is no longer legal consideration for a contract modification in which the owner receives a reduced price.  Example:  In a kitchen remodel, for good customer relations you supplied some extras free:  a) a 48 bottle built-in wine cellar and b) painted the adjoining dining room with a coat of base and semi-gloss. Then you never got paid the last installment on the contract. If you supplied labor only, your Maryland lien will add in the hourly rate under the contract. If labor and material, use cost-plus or T & M amounts in the lien.

Call if there are any questions about a mechanics lien in Maryland—we’ll walk you through it. (800) 995-9434; (925) 899-8449.

0